Do You Want to Run for Office in 2020?

I am starting this earlier than usual to give everyone a chance to begin thinking about running for office! I have listed the local offices below that will be on the 2020 ballot and some details about filing. I will, over the next few articles tell a little about each office and you may find the information under the “County Officials Job Descriptions” tab on our website.

Please contact me with questions here: Filing will be sometime toward the end of the year, depending on what the legislature does. I’ll have more on that later. In the meantime, be sure you can meet the requirements by moving into the area or getting your law degree! LOL

(Each office is a 4 year term except the Chairs and they are 2 years.)

County Attorney


Tax Assessor/Collector

Commissioner, Precinct 1

Commissioner, Precinct 3


Republican Party County Chair

Republican Party Precinct Chairs, All Precincts

Except for Chairs, each of these candidates must file an application and pay appropriate fees or file a petition in lieu of fees with the Republican County Chair to get a place on the Primary ballot.

All candidates must be at least 18 yrs old, reside in Texas for 12 months, reside in county/precinct* for 6 months and be a U. S. citizen. A candidate may file a petition with 500 signatures in lieu of a filing fee. The filing fee for each office except Constable is $750 and Constable is $375. There are specific details that go with each requirement (like-County Attorney must be a practicing attorney) and there may be further qualifications, so check with the Chair or Secretary of State to be sure you qualify.

Chairs must be qualified voters of the county/precinct and not be candidates for or holders of an elective office of the federal, state, or county government. They must file an application with the County Chair, but do not pay filing fees.

*Depends on the office for which you are running

#2020Elections #Candidates

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2015 by Sharon Van Baale. Proudly created with

Paid for by the Republican Party of Jack County and not authorized by any candidate or their PAC.